AARGI (Indonesian Earthquake Engineering Association - IEEA)

5th International Conference on Earthquake Engineering and Disaster Mitigation
(5th ICEEDM)
Yogyakarta, Indonesia

AARGI (Indonesian Earthquake Engineering Association - IEEA)

5th International Conference on Earthquake Engineering and Disaster Mitigation
(5th ICEEDM)
Yogyakarta, Indonesia

September 28-29, 2022 (Conference)

September 30, 2022 (Short Course)

Conference Hall, SGLC Building, Faculty of Engineering UGM,
Yogyakarta, Indonesia (In-Person) & Zoom Meeting (Virtual)

September 28-29, 2022 (Conference)

September 30, 2022 (Short Course)

Conference Hall, SGLC Building, Faculty of Engineering UGM,
Yogyakarta, Indonesia (In-Person) & Zoom Meeting (Virtual)

About the Conference

Commemoration 15 years of the 2006 Yogyakarta earthquake with more than 6200 deaths, one of the deadliest earthquake in Indonesia

Indonesia lies between the Pacific Ring of Fire and the Alpide belt that runs along the south and west from Sumatra, Java, Bali, Flores to Timor. Many strong earthquakes have occurred in Indonesia during the last decades and caused many casualties and damages on the infrastructures and lifeline facilities.

Among others, Yogyakarta Earthquake on 27 May 2006, magnitude of 6,2 Mw, depth 10 km, with 6234 deaths, more than 154,000 houses destroyed and 260,000 units experiencing damage, Aceh Earthquake & Tsunami on 26 December 2004, undersea megathrust earthquake, the third-largest ever recorded in the 21st century with magnitude of 9.1–9.3 Mw, depth 30 km below mean sea level, Lombok Earthquake on August 5 2018 with 563 dead and 1000 injured, magnitude of 6,9 Mw, depth 31 km, Palu Earthquake & Tsunami on 28 September 2018, a shallow, large earthquake with 4,340 dead and 10,679 injured, magnitude of 7.5 Mw, depth 20 km, and Mamuju Erthquake on 15 January 2021 with 108 dead and 3,369 injured, magnitude of 6,2 Mw, depth 18 km.

This conference is held to provide an opportunity to share experiences, disseminate the latest research and development results related to earthquake engineering, which will be very useful for increasing knowledge and disaster mitigation policies. It is hoped that this conference will be beneficial for all parties in order to minimize the risk of earthquake hazards in Indonesia and throughout the world.


The conference will be held in Yogyakarta, the hometown of Universitas Gadjah Mada and one of the most famous tourist destinations in Indonesia. It can be reached within 1.5 hours from Yogyakarta International Airport (YIA).

Sultan Palace, Prambanan Temple, and Borobudur Temple are the most favourite tourist attractions in Yogyakarta which can be reached only about 1 hour from the UGM campus.


The 5th ICEEDM will be delivered in a hybrid event format, combining an in-person (limited to first 100 participants) conference experience at Conference Hall, SGLC Building, Faculty of Engineering – Universitas Gadjah Mada, Yogyakarta, with virtual online component via Zoom Meeting. Online participants are not limited.

Event Committees

Advisory Board

  • Prof. Koichi Kusunoki, Ph.D. (IAEE, Japan)
  • Prof. Adang Surahman, Ph.D. (AARGI, Indonesia)
  • Prof. I Wayan Sengara, Ph.D. (AARGI, Indonesia)
  • Prof. Teuku Faisal Fathani, Ph.D. (UGM, Indonesia)
  • Dr. Made Suarjana (AARGI, ITB, Indonesia)

Organizing Committee

  • Prof. Bambang Suhendro, Ph.D. (Chairman)
  • Angga Fajar Setiawan, Ph.D. (Vice Chairman)
  • Member:
       Ali Awaludin, Ph.D.
       Ashar Saputra, Ph.D.
       Akhmad Aminullah, Ph.D.
       Dr. Inggar Septhia Irawati
       Tantri Nastiti Handayani, Ph.D.

Scientific Committee

  • Prof. Ir. Iman Satyarno, M.Sc., Ph.D. (Chair, UGM, Indonesia)
  • Prof. Koichi Kusunoki (IAEE, Japan)
  • Prof. Jonathan D. Bray (UC-Berkeley, USA)
  • Prof. Hitoshi Tanaka (Tohoku University, Japan)
  • Prof. Chung-Che Chou (National Taiwan University)
  • Prof. Rajib Shaw (Keio University, Japan)
  • Prof. Ir. Teuku Faisal Fathani, S.T., M.T., Ph.D., IPU., ASEAN Eng. (UGM, Indonesia)
  • Prof. Ir. I Wayan Sengara, MSCE., MSEM., Ph.D. (AARGI, ITB, Indonesia)
  • Prof. Dr. Ir. Krishna S. Pribadi (ITB, Indonesia)
  • Prof. Ir. Bambang Suhendro, M.Sc., Ph.D., IPU. (UGM, Indonesia)
  • Prof. Ir. Hrc. Priyosulistyo, M.Sc., Ph.D. (UGM, Indonesia)
  • Prof. Dr. Ir. Hary Christady Hardiyatmo, M.Eng., DEA (UGM, Indonesia)
  • Prof. Ir. Priyo Suprobo, M.S., Ph.D. (AARGI, ITS, Indonesia)
  • Prof. Ir. Widodo, MSCE., Ph.D. (UII, Indonesia)
  • Prof. Ir. Sarwidi, MSCE., Ph.D., IPU. (BNPB, UII, Indonesia)
  • Prof. Ir. Mochamad Teguh, MSCE., Ph.D. (UII, Indonesia)
  • Prof. Ir. Yoyong Arfiadi, M.Eng., Ph.D. (UAJY, Indonesia)
  • Prof. Dr. Ir. Han Ay Lie, M.Eng. (Undip, Indonesia)
  • Dyah Kusumastuti, S.T., M.T., Ph.D. (AARGI, ITB, Indonesia)
  • Ir. Rildova, M.T., Ph.D. (AARGI, ITB, Indonesia)
  • Erwin Lim, S.T., M.S., Ph.D. (AARGI, ITB, Indonesia)
  • Dr. Ir. Ahmad Rifa’i, M.T. (UGM, Indonesia)
  • Dr. Ir. Didiek Djarwadi, M.T. (HATTI, Indonesia)
  • Sugeng Wijanto, Ph.D., IPU-A (AARGI, Usakti, Indonesia)
  • Dr. Eng. Ir. Febrin Ismail, M.T. (AARGI, Unand, Indonesia)
  • Prof. Dr. Eng. Fauzan, S.T., M. Sc. Eng. (Unand, Indonesia)
  • Prof. Ir. Radianta Triatmadja, Ph.D. (UGM, Indonesia)
  • Dr. Benazir B. Iska, S.T., M.Eng. (UGM, Indonesia)
  • Dr. Gayatri Indah Marliyani, S.T., M.Sc. (UGM, Indonesia)
  • Prof. Dr. Andri Dian Nugraha, S.Si., M.Si. (ITB, Indonesia)
  • Dr-Ing. Ir. Andreas Triwiyono (UGM, Indonesia)
  • Rusnardi Rahmat Putra, S.T., M.T., Ph.D. (UNP, Indonesia)

Listen to the Event Speakers

Keynote Speakers

Prof. Koichi Kusunoki

Secretary General Intenational Association of Earthquake Engineering (IAEE), Japan

Prof. Jonathan D. Bray

University of California, Berkeley, USA

Prof. Tony Yang

University of British Columbia, Canada

Prof. Hitoshi Tanaka

Tohoku University, Japan

Prof. Chung-Che Chou

National Taiwan University, National Center Research on Earthquake Engineering (NCREE), Taiwan

Prof. Rajib Shaw

Keio University, Japan

Ir. Diana Kusumastuti, M.T.

Directorate General of Human Settlements, Ministry of Public Works and Public Housing

Prof. Bambang Suhendro

Universitas Gadjah Mada, Structural Engineering

Prof. Krishna S. Pribadi

Institut Teknologi Bandung, Earthquake Disaster Management

Prof. I Wayan Sengara

Institut Teknologi Bandung, Indonesia

Prof. Kazuo Konagai

University of Tokyo, Japan

Prof. Junji Kiyono

Kyoto University, Japan

Invited Speakers

Prof. H. Sarwidi

Indonesian National Board for Disaster Management (BNPB)

Prof. Iman Satyarno

AARGI D.I. Yogyakarta, Universitas Gadjah Mada

Prof. Priyo Suprobo

AARGI Jawa Timur, Institut Teknologi Sepuluh Nopember

Dr. Rusnardi Rahmat Putra

Universitas Negeri Padang, Indonesia

Prof. Widodo

Universitas Islam Indonesia, Indonesia

Prof. Made Sukrawa

Universitas Udayana, Indonesia

Dr. Dongjoo Kim

Korea Authority of Land & Infrastructure Safety (KALIS), Korea

Dr. Didiek Djarwadi

Indonesian National Center Study of Earthquake

Dr. Febrin Ismail

AARGI Sumatra Barat, Universitas Andalas

Dr. Sugeng Wijanto

AARGI D.K.I. Jakarta, Universitas Trisakti

Prof. Han Ay Lie

Universitas Diponegoro, Indonesia

Dr. Sito Ismanti

Universitas Gadjah Mada, Indonesia

Important Dates

M̶a̶r̶c̶h̶ ̶3̶1̶,̶ ̶2̶0̶2̶2̶
Extended until 𝗔𝗽𝗿𝗶𝗹 𝟮𝟰, 𝟮𝟬𝟮𝟮
Abstract Submission Deadline
A̶p̶r̶i̶l̶ ̶3̶0̶,̶ ̶2̶0̶2̶2̶
𝗝𝘂𝗻𝗲 𝟴, 𝟮𝟬𝟮𝟮
Abstract Acceptance Notification
J̶u̶n̶e̶ ̶3̶0̶,̶ ̶2̶0̶2̶2̶
𝗔𝘂𝗴𝘂𝘀𝘁 𝟯𝟭, 𝟮𝟬𝟮𝟮
Full Paper Submission Deadline
J̶u̶l̶y̶ ̶3̶1̶,̶ ̶2̶0̶2̶2̶
𝐒𝐞𝐩𝐭𝐞𝐦𝐛𝐞𝐫 𝟓, 𝟐𝟎𝟐𝟐
Full Paper Acceptance Notification
Sept 28-29, 2022
September 30, 2022
Short Course

Event Organizers

Indonesian Earthquake Engineering Association

Universitas Gadjah Mada

Supported by

Institut Teknologi Bandung

International Association for Earthquake Engineering

Universitas Islam Indonesia

Universitas Atma Jaya Yogyakarta

Sponsored by

Media Partner